Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Prince 2011-05-14 The Forum Los Angeles, CA (FLAC)

Prince and the New Power Generation
The Forum
Los Angeles, CA
May 14, 2011

Show #12 of the 21 Nite Stand.

A really great, enjoyable show. Maybe the best sounding recording of any of the shows I've recorded. Prince definitely brought his A game. Even songs played every night seemed fresh, and the overplayed covers worked better at the end of the show, rather than in the middle. The Insatiable/Scandalous/Adore sequence was the best of the three times I have seen it, even better that opening night. A full house. 10 minute thing happened after Adore. Crowd stayed after Hollywood Swinging and it seemed like there was going to be more, but after 10 minutes or so the plug was pulled. Orange Strat on Laydown/Dreamer/She's Always In My Hair. Hohner on all the rest. Mike Phillips plays sax on several songs. Halle Berry dances onstage during Cool. Susan Sarandon, along with dozens of others, dances onstage at the end.

Sonics>Battery Box>Edirol R-09HR>ProTools (for level adjustment, compression, eq, noise reduction and song separation)>flac.

Taped and mastered by JB. Please don't sell. DO NOT convert to lossy format. That means don't post a bunch of mp3's on your blog because you want your friends to hear the show, or post mp3's because some guy doesn't want to take the time to download 1000MB. If you upload this show on another site, include all the text info above, especially the NO LOSSY part. Please no remastering without asking.

Disc 1 (79:50)

01. When Eye Lay My Hands On U
02. Laydown
03. Dreamer / Welcome 2 America
04. She's Always In My Hair
05. Future Soul Song
06. Purple Rain
07. The Glamorous Life (Sheila E. and the band)
08. Somewhere Here On Earth / I Love U But I Don't Trust U
09. Take Me With U
10. Raspberry Beret
11. Cream
12. Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough
13. Cool
14. Let's Work
15. You Got The Look

Disc 2 (79:55)

01. No One Else (sung by Amel Larrieux)
02. Nothing Compares To U (duet with Shelby J)
03. Controversy (with Housequake chants)

Encore 1
Prince at the sampler . . .
04. When Doves Cry / Nasty Girl / Sign O' The Times / The Most Beautiful Girl In The World / Love / Black Sweat / Darling Nikki / I Would Die 4 U

05. If Eye Was Ur Girlfriend
06. Insatiable
07. Scandalous
08. Adore
09. crowd

Encore 2
10. Kiss

Encore 3
11. Play That Funky Music
12. Hollywood Swinging


No comments:

Post a Comment