Thursday, June 23, 2011

Miles Davis 1986-06-15 Giants Stadium, East Rutherford, NJ, US [PRO]


Miles Davis 1986-06-15 Giants Stadium, East Rutherford, NJ, US [PRO]

Miles Davis Octet with Carlos Santana
Amnesty International's 25th Anniversary Benefit Concert
Giants Stadium, East Rutherford, NJ
June 15, 1986


Uncle A's HiFi Beta Master
Video feed: MTV simulcast
Audio feed: Westwood One FM stereo simulcast


HiFi Beta Master->Panasonic DMR-E55 (DVD Mastered@XP)
DVD Master VIDEO_TS folder extracted and burned on a G4 using Roxio Toast 6.0.3. That DVD's (mine) VIDEO_TS folder extracted for this torrent.


One Phone Call/Street Scenes (M. Davis)
Speak/That's What Happened (M. Davis-J. Scofield)
Tutu (M. Miller)
Splatch (M. Miller)
**Burn (R. Irving III-R. Hall)


Miles Davis (tpt, org)
Bob Berg (ss, ts)
Robben Ford (g)
Robert Irving III (synth)
Adam Holzman (synth)
Felton Crews (el-b)
Vincent Wilburn, Jr. (d)
Steve Thornton (perc)
**add Carlos Santana


At the time, few people had stereo audio capability on their cable TV systems in this area, so Uncle A patched the Westwood One FM stereo simulcast for the audio instead of the mono cable TV audio. The result is great quality, both audio and video. The only anomalies are some brief audio distortion and compressor adjustments during quieter parts of "Tutu," which was inherent to both simulcasts. Also, the brief pre-performance and post-performance footage does not match because of the two different sources feeding the master. However, rest assurred, all of Miles Davis' set is perfectly synched. This is a short but inspired set for later era Miles, with Robben Ford handling lead guitar and Carlos Santana joining in at the end for a smoking finale on "Burn."


No comments:

Post a Comment